Hello Philippine World!

Me and my husband in Ozamiz

This is my first time blogging. I am a simple Filipina from Ozamiz now living in USA.I have a wonderful husband and a beautiful 21 month old daughter. What can I say about my  life over the last thirty-some years?

Let me first talk about life in the mountains of Barangay Malinao. I was born on June 12, 1974, the seventh of ten children to my parents. Living in the mountain is very different from the city. Living off the land was the only way to survive. There is no electricity or running water. That means no TV. But that was fine for me.

Actually, I’m just learning how to blog and my husband is the one to do this so far. He is teaching me so I can do it on my own eventually. Anyway, it is about time for me to take over, so here goes…

When I lived in the mountain with my parents and four brothers and five sisters it was not easy. Life in the mountain is very hard, but we did okay. Since we had no electricity, my parents used a battery for the flashlight and the radio so we could hear news and music. There was no running water in the house. My parents got water from Barangay so that we have water to use for drink and to cook for food also cleaning and washing clothes.

When my eldest sister finished college,  she went to Manila to work  so that she could help my parents with finances ‘coz raising ten children was not easy, but I’m so proud. More later….

Leave a Reply

